holy shit

I think a new superproducer has entered the room.

I’ve been a big fan of Cassie’s ‘Me & U’ for a while, and I’ve had her ‘Long Way To Go’ in my head today. I listened through the rest of her album, though, and even though Cassie is a singer of modest talents, the album is carried by Ryan Leslie’s uniformly tight production.

Many would find this sacrilege, but I think there’s something of Thom Bell to Leslie’s production, in that combination of taste and laid-back lushness.

It’s even more surprising that Ryan Leslie makes an impression considering the bumper crop of solid producers that have come out recently. I’m thinking Cool & Dre, Rich Harrison, and that Nate guy who works with Timbo… not to mention the countless workmanlike producers on the radio (e.g. Scott Storch).

Leave a Reply

